Biological Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

    About the group

    As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in the study of systems that are either biological in origin or serve as informative models.

    Biological physics spans the molecular to whole ecosystems. Common themes are:

    • the application and development of physical techniques
    • conceptual models to the living world

    Discussion and collaboration is encouraged, through the organisation and scientific meetings.

    Biological physics was identified as an important area in a report by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (PDF, 2.55MB).

    What the group does

    We encourage a community spirit among biological physicists and promote their:

    • interests
    • publications
    • research
    • this area of physics

    Joining an IOP special interest group

    For non-IOP members: Become a member now

    For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

    Group events

    Find group events on the IOP events site.


    March 2020 (PDF, 1.2MB)
    October 2019 (PDF, 2.3MB)
    December 2018 (PDF, 6.23MB)
    June 2018 (PDF, 2.43MB)
    April 2018 (PDF, 4.55MB)
    October/November 2016 (PDF, 634KB)
    October 2015 (PDF, 3.81MB)

    Useful links

    Download The Importance of Engineering and Physical Sciences Research to Health and Life Sciences (PDF, 2.55MB)

    Learn about the Biophysical Society

    Committee and contacts 

    Chair Dr Pietro Cicuta, MInstP
    Secretary Professor Mark Leake, FInstP
    Treasurer Dr Thomas Waigh, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Professor Achillefs Kapanidis, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Chiu Fan Lee, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Marco Mazza, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Professor Ewa Paluch
    Ordinary Member Professor Michelle Peckham
    Ordinary Member Dr Peter Petrov, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Andela Saric
    Ordinary Member Dr Margarita Staykova
    Ordinary Member Dr Bartlomiej Waclaw, MInstP

    Email: [email protected]