Applied Mechanics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About this group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in the static and dynamic behaviour of mechanical systems. This includes:

  • experimental
  • analytical
  • numerical

Our overarching theme is the synergy between these studies.

We cover topics that include:

  • materials characterisation
  • measuring and modelling residual stresses
  • damage assessment
  • identification and control
  • multi-functional and smart structures
  • multi-scale analyses
  • damping materials
  • mechanics of advanced materials under vibro-impact loading

What the group does

Our key activities focus on the understanding of:

  • stresses
  • deformational processes
  • failure of components
  • structures and materials exposed to arduous loading and service conditions 

Enabling technology

Our remit covers the enabling technology that underpins analysis such as:

  • sensor development
  • full-field optical systems for experimental analysis
  • development and application of modal analysis
  • inverse methods
  • advances in the finite element and boundary element methods


The application range covers the design, manufacture and static/dynamic behaviour of components and systems in the following areas:

  • aerospace
  • automotive
  • composite materials and structures
  • energy technologies
  • marine systems
  • medical engineering

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group events

Find group events on the IOP events site.

Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Carol Featherston, MInstP
Secretary Dr Anish Roy, MInstP
Treasurer Wing Commander Anthony Drew, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor David Barton, FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Hugh Goyder, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr WeeLiam Khor, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Sadegh Nadimi, MInstP
Co-opted member Dr Alice Cicirello, MInstP